The Austrian Institute for Sustainable Development was founded in 1995. It is a nonprofit scientific association based at the University of Natural Resources and Life Sciences, Vienna. A group of dedicated scientists of various universities in Austria and non-academic research institutions banded together. The aim is to establish in close cooperation with practicioners the conditions to realize the concept of sustainability. Accordingly the work at ÖIN is practice-orientated, transdisciplinary and international.

The ÖIN is as a research institute with scientific assistants embedded in one of the biggest networks of sustainability researchers in the German speaking area. The core of this network are the scientists in the ÖIN board of directors.

Board of directors – ÖIN

(status: december 2017)


Univ.-Lektor DI Dr. Alfred Strigl
Discipline: biotechnology
plenum gesellschaft für ganzheitlich nachhaltige entwicklung gmbH, Wien
Österreichisches Institut für Nachhaltige Entwicklung, Wien

Vice director:

Dr. Christoph Müller
Discipline: law
formerly: Head of Department Environment, Sustainability and Transport of the Federal Chancellery, Vienna


Mag. Dominik Schmitz
Fachdisziplin: environmental system sciences
Zentrum für globalen Wandel und Nachhaltigkeit, Universität für Bodenkultur


Dr. Christian Bertsch
Discipline: biology and educational sciences

Univ.-Prof. Dr. Ulrich Brand
Discipline: international policy
Institut für Politikwissenschaft, Universität Wien

Dr. Petra C. Gruber
Discipline: social economics
Interdisziplinäres Forschungsinstitut für Entwicklungszusammenarbeit, Johannes Kepler Universität Linz

Dr. Bernhard Hadolt
Discipline: culture and social anthropology
Fakultät für Sozialwissenschaften, Universität Wien

em. Univ.-Prof. Dr. Heinz Hübner
Discipline: management of technology and innovation
formerly: Universität Kassel

Univ.-Prof. Dr. Mathias Jungwirth
Discipline: hydrobiology
Abt. f. Hydrobiologie, Fischereiwirtschaft u. Aquakultur, Universität für Bodenkultur Wien

Univ.-Prof. Dr.phil. Helga Kromp-Kolb
Discipline: meteorology, climate research
Zentrum für Globalen Wandel und Nachhaltigkeit, Universität für Bodenkultur Wien

Dipl.-Ing. Dr.nat.techn. Thomas Lindenthal
Fachdisziplin: organic farming
Zentrum für globalen Wandel und Nachhaltigkeit, Universität für Bodenkultur

Dr. Jürg Minsch
Discipline: economics
Minsch Sustainability Studies, Zürich

Ao.Univ.-Prof. Dipl.-Ing. Dr.nat.techn. Marianne Penker
Fachdisziplin: agriculture and forestry, Regional development planning
Institut für Nachhaltige Wirtschaftsentwicklung, Universität für Bodenkultur Wien

Prof. Mag. Dr. Anna Maria Pircher-Friedrich
Discipline: business economics
Bereich Human Resource, Management Center Innsbruck

Univ.-Prof. Dr. Erika Wagner
Discipline: environmental law
Institut für Umweltrecht, JKU Linz


Prof. Dr. Gerald Dick

Heinz Sares