SAMOA – Sustainability Assessment for Mobility in Austria

By assignment of the Austrian Research Promotion Agency (FFG) in the framework of the research programme „Mobilität der Zukunft“; project duration: Jun 2016 – Nov 2017

Project management: Mag. Bernhard Fürst (TRAFFIX Verkehrsplanung GmbH)

Project implementation: Dr. Alexis Sancho-Reinoso (ÖIN)

Project partner: TRAFFIX Verkehrsplanung GmbH; Österreichisches Institut für Nachhaltige Entwicklung (ÖIN); PlanSinn GmbH – Büro für Planung und Kommunikation.

In the SAMOA project (Sustainability Assessment for Mobility in Austria) we will initially elaborate sets of criteria and indicators for a standardized assessment of mobility- and transport-related strategies and measures regarding sustainable development in Austria. An integrative three-step sustainability assessment approach which is capable of considering horizontal as well as vertical connections will provide a main focus of the project. Thus, three levels of sustainability assessment are addressed: 1) system assessment regarding long-term guiding principles, 2) strategy assessment regarding mid-term goals and strategies and 3) measure assessment regarding specific mobility-related measures. This integrative approach ensures that single measures are not considered in isolation. Rather, given inter-actions between guiding principles and implementations are taken into account adequately.

The main output of the project will be a concept consisting of scientifically sound and practically workable criteria, indicators and evaluation methods that enables a standardized and comprehensible assessment of the contribution of mobility-related strategies or measures to sustainable development and that is accepted by all relevant stakeholders.

Aiming at a broad acceptance on the one hand and a practical feasibility regarding expediency, projection quality, processing effort and practicability on the other hand, a main emphasis is on the comprehensive involvement of the relevant stakeholders, already starting at an early project stage. In this context, the applicability and feasibility of the developed concept will be verified in detail in terms of a “practice check” at different regional levels (national, federal, city, regional and municipality level). Furthermore, specific implementation possibilities, especially in the field of impact-oriented administration, will be identified.

SAMOA – Sustainability Assessment for Mobility in Austria

Im Auftrag der Österr. Forschungsförderungsgesellschaft (FFG) im Rahmen des Programms „Mobilität der Zukunft“; Laufzeit: Jun 2016 – Nov 2017

Projektleitung: Mag. Bernhard Fürst (TRAFFIX Verkehrsplanung GmbH)

Projektbearbeitung: Dr. Alexis Sancho-Reinoso (ÖIN)

Projektpartner: TRAFFIX Verkehrsplanung GmbH; Österreichisches Institut für Nachhaltige Entwicklung (ÖIN); PlanSinn GmbH – Büro für Planung und Kommunikation.

Im Projekt SAMOA werden erstmals Kriterien- und Indikatoren-Sets zur standardisierten Beurteilung der Auswirkungen verkehrs- und mobilitätspolitischer Strategien und Maßnahmen auf eine nachhaltige Entwicklung in Österreich erarbeitet. Im Mittelpunkt steht dabei die Konzeption eines integrativen Nachhaltigkeits-Assessment-Ansatzes, der sowohl horizontale als auch vertikale Zusammenhänge adäquat miteinbezieht und auf drei Ebenen ansetzt: 1. System-Assessment zur Nachhaltigkeitsbewertung des langfristigen Bezugsleitbildes von Maßnahmen, 2. Strategie-Assessment zur Nachhaltigkeitsbewertung der daraus abgeleiteten mittelfristigen Ziele und Strategien und 3. Maßnahmen-Assessment zur Nachhaltigkeitsbewertung mobilitätsbezogener Maßnahmen. Durch diesen integrativen Ansatz wird sichergestellt, dass Maßnahmen nicht isoliert betrachtet und gegebene Wechselwirkungen zwischen Leitvorstellungen und Umsetzungen adäquat berücksichtigt werden.

Als Ergebnis des Projektes wird ein Konzept mit wissenschaftlich fundierten, bei allen relevanten Akteuren akzeptierten und praxistauglichen Kriterien, Indikatoren und Beurteilungsmethoden vorliegen, das geeignet ist, den Beitrag von Strategien und Maßnahmen im Verkehrs- und Mobilitätsbereich zu einer nachhaltigen Entwicklung in standardisierter und nachvollziehbarer Form bestmöglich zu ermitteln bzw. abzuschätzen.

Durch eine frühzeitige und umfassende Einbindung der relevanten Stakeholder steht einerseits eine breite Akzeptanz und andererseits die Sicherstellung der praktischen Machbarkeit hinsichtlich Zweckmäßigkeit, Abbildungsqualität, Aufwand bei Anwendung sowie Praktikabilität im Vordergrund. In diesem Zusammenhang werden im Sinne eines Praxis-Checks die Anwendbarkeit und Praxistauglichkeit des entwickelten Konzeptes auf unterschiedlichen Maßstabsebenen (Bund, Land, Stadt, Region, Gemeinde) im Detail geprüft und konkrete Umsetzungsmöglichkeiten insbesondere im Bereich der wirkungsorientierten Verwaltung aufgezeigt.