Residential satisfaction in Sonnwendviertel

A study on the residential satisfaction of residents in the Viennese urban development area “Sonnwendviertel”

Commissioned by the Vienna city council’s department of housing research (MA 50); project duration: Sep 2015 – Dec 2015

Project management: Dr. Anja Christanell (ÖIN)

Project implementation: Dr. Anja Christanell, Mag. Elisabeth Sophie Mayrhuber, Sylvia Mandl, MSc, Mag. Michaela Leitner (ÖIN)

In the study, the residential satisfaction of residents will be investigated in the already populated residential buildings of the Viennese urban development area “Sonnwendviertel”.

The two main objectives of the study are 1) by means of a quantitative survey among the residents and a qualitative survey of local businesses in Sonnwendviertel to investigate certain aspects of their housing satisfaction, the quality of their neighborhood, the use of their living environment and 2) to gain insights on the implementation of social sustainability in subsidized housing for future residential land use planning, housing subsidies and urban development.

The focus of the study is on the extent to which residents are socially integrated in their living environment. Topics of the survey are therefore not only whether and how the residents are networking with their neighbors, but also the ways in which they come into contact with them and how satisfied they are with the intensity of these contacts. The use of the living environment (the ground floor of concrete areas) from the perspective of the residents, but also the operators of business premises will also be charged, as well as the participation in the design of the living environment. The focus of the study is also on important aspects of residential satisfaction with the housing environment, more precisely with various aspects of the infrastructure and the affordability of living in Sonnwendviertel.

The study gives an insight into how the fourth pillar of social sustainability in the 4-pillar model of the Viennese developer competitions is lived and experienced by the residents of Sonnwendviertel.

Christanell, Anja; Mayrhuber, Elisabeth Sophie; Mandl, Sylvia; Leitner, Michaela (2015): Wohnzufriedenheit im Sonnwendviertel: Eine Studie über die Wohnzufriedenheit von BewohnerInnen in geförderten Wohnbauten des Wiener Sonnwendviertels. Final report. Vienna: Austrian Institute for Sustainable Development.

Wohnzufriedenheit im Sonnwendviertel

Eine Studie über die Wohnzufriedenheit von BewohnerInnen in geförderten Wohnbauten des Wiener Sonnwendviertels

Im Auftrag der MA50 Wiener Wohnbauforschung; Laufzeit: Sep 2015 – Dez 2015

Projektleitung: Dr. Anja Christanell (ÖIN)

Projektbearbeitung: Dr. Anja Christanell, Mag. Elisabeth Sophie Mayrhuber, Sylvia Mandl, MSc, Mag. Michaela Leitner (ÖIN)

In der Studie wird die Wohnzufriedenheit von BewohnerInnen in den bereits besiedelten, geförderten Wohnbauten im Wiener Sonnwendviertel untersucht.

Die beiden Hauptziele der Studie sind 1) mittels einer quantitativen Erhebung unter den BewohnerInnen der sieben bereits besiedelten Bauplätze sowie einer qualitativen Befragung von Geschäftstreibenden im Sonnwendviertel Erkenntnisse hinsichtlich bestimmter Aspekte ihrer Wohnzufriedenheit, der Qualität ihrer Nachbarschaft sowie der Gestaltung und Nutzung ihres Wohnumfelds und 2) damit verbundene Einsichten zur Umsetzung sozialer Nachhaltigkeit im geförderten Wohnbau für die zukünftige Wohnraumplanung, Wohnbauförderung und Stadtteilentwicklung zu gewinnen.

Im Zentrum der Studie steht die Frage, inwiefern die BewohnerInnen in ihr Wohnumfeld sozial integriert sind und sie dieses nutzen, gestalten und beurteilen. Themen der Befragung sind daher nicht nur, ob und wie die BewohnerInnen mit ihren NachbarInnen vernetzt sind, sondern auch, auf welchen Wegen sie mit ihnen in Kontakt treten und wie zufrieden sie mit der Intensität dieser Kontakte sind. Die Nutzung des Wohnumfelds (konkreter der Erdgeschoßzonen) aus Sicht der BewohnerInnen, aber auch der BetreiberInnen von Geschäftslokalen wird ebenfalls erhoben, ebenso wie die Beteiligung an der Gestaltung des Wohnumfelds. Im Fokus der Studie sind außerdem wichtige Aspekte der Wohnzufriedenheit mit der Wohnumgebung, genauer mit verschiedenen Aspekten der Infrastruktur und der Leistbarkeit des Wohnens im Sonnwendviertel.

Christanell, Anja; Mayrhuber, Elisabeth Sophie; Mandl, Sylvia; Leitner, Michaela (2015): Wohnzufriedenheit im Sonnwendviertel: Eine Studie über die Wohnzufriedenheit von BewohnerInnen in geförderten Wohnbauten des Wiener Sonnwendviertels. Endbericht. Wien: Österreichisches Institut für Nachhaltige Entwicklung.