Methodological reflection and design of a survey instrument to climate awareness and climate-relevant behaviour of the Viennese youth

A study commissioned by the Cultural Department of the City of Vienna (MA7); project duration: Dec 2013 – Jun 2014

Project management and implementation: Mag. Elisabeth Sophie Mayrhuber (ÖIN)

Without controversy, young people will be most affected by the dramatic ecological, social and economic impacts of climate change (cf. IPCC 2014). This target group is heterogeneous in terms of the environmental awareness and the climate-relevant behaviour. Therefore, effective communication formats must consider specific preferences and dimensions of consciousness.

The study was guided by the following research questions:

  • How are dimensions of climate awareness and climate-related behaviour of young people collected in selected questionnaires?
  • Which methodological and methodical problems may occur when analysing climate awareness and climate-relevant behaviour?
  • What results can be seen in terms of readability and understanding during the evaluating of the pre-test?

In this study it was discussed how these dimensions were identified in previous studies and excerpts from different questionnaires were exemplified. Then fundamental considerations regarding methodological and methodical difficulties in behavioural studies were carried out. The methodological reflection allowed a direct contrast of question formulations on a meta-level, which was supportive for the design of the survey instrument. To improve the quality of the designed questionnaire, it was tested at 72 adolescents. At the time of the survey they were completing their education at the company Kapsch and were 15 to 22 years old. The collected data was analysed, in which case the focus was placed on documenting the resulting difficulties with the questionnaire and on recording suggestions for possible adaptations.

Mayrhuber, Elisabeth Sophie (2014). Methodische Reflexion und Konzeption eines Erhebungsinstruments zu Klimabewusstsein und klimarelevantem Verhalten von Wiener Jugendlichen. Final Report. Vienna: Austrian Institute for Sustainable Development.

Methodische Reflexion und Konzeption eines Erhebungsinstruments zu Klimabewusstsein und klimarelevantem Verhalten von Wiener Jugendlichen

Im Auftrag der Wissenschafts- und Forschungsförderung der Kulturabteilung der Stadt Wien (MA7); Laufzeit: Dez 2013 – Jun 2014

Projektleitung und -bearbeitung: Mag. Elisabeth Sophie Mayrhuber (ÖIN)

Von den drastischen ökologischen, sozialen und ökonomischen Auswirkungen des Klimawandels (vgl. IPCC 2014) werden unumstritten junge Menschen am stärksten betroffen sein. Diese Zielgruppe ist sowohl im Hinblick auf das Klimabewusstsein als auch auf das klimarelevante Verhalten heterogen und wirksame Kommunikationsformate müssen spezifische Präferenzen und Bewusstseinsdimensionen berücksichtigen.

Die Studie wurde von folgenden Untersuchungsfragen geleitet:

  • Wie werden die Dimensionen des Klimabewusstseins und klimarelevantem Verhalten junger Menschen in ausgewählten Fragebögen erhoben?
  • Welche methodologischen und methodischen Probleme können bei den Untersuchungen von Klimabewusstsein und klimarelevantem Verhalten auftreten?
  • Welche Ergebnisse zeigen sich hinsichtlich der Lesbarkeit und Verständlichkeit durch die erste Auswertung des Pretests?

Zunächst wurde in der Studie erörtert wie diese Dimensionen in früheren Studien erfasst wurden und Auszüge aus unterschiedlichen Fragebögen exemplarisch dargestellt. Anschließend wurden grundsätzliche Überlegungen bezüglich methodologischen und methodischen Schwierigkeiten bei Verhaltensuntersuchungen ausgeführt. Die methodische Reflexion erlaubte eine direkte Kontrastierung von Frageformulierungen auf einer Metaebene, die unterstützend für die Konstruktion des Erhebungsinstruments war. Der entworfene Fragebogen wurde dann mit dem Ziel der Qualitätsverbesserung bei 72 Jugendlichen, die zum Zeitpunkt der Erhebung eine außerbetriebliche Lehre bei der Firma Kapsch absolvierten und im Alter zwischen 15 und 22 waren, getestet. Die erhobenen Daten wurden ausgewertet, wobei hier der Fokus darauf gelegt wurde die entstandenen Schwierigkeiten mit dem Fragebogen zu dokumentieren und mögliche Adaptionsvorschläge aufzuzeichnen.

Mayrhuber, Elisabeth Sophie (2014). Methodische Reflexion und Konzeption eines Erhebungsinstruments zu Klimabewusstsein und klimarelevantem Verhalten von Wiener Jugendlichen. Endbericht. Wien: Österreichisches Institut für Nachhaltige Entwicklung.