AUTreach – Communicating climate aware behaviour to young people in Austria

Supported by funds of Austrian Climate Research Program (ACRP, 6th Call); project duration: Mai 2014 – Apr 2016

Project management:
Centre for Global Change and Sustainability (gW/N) at the University of Natural Resources and Life Sciences, Vienna (BOKU); Dr. Sybille Chiari

Project partners:
Austrian Institute for Sustainable Development (ÖIN); Sylvia Mandl, MSc, Dr. Anja Christanell, Mag. Michaela Leitner
Department for Environmental Impact Assessment & Climate Change, Environment Agency Austria; Mag. Sonja Völler, Dipl.-Ing. Andrea Prutsch, Mag. Ivo Offenthaler, Dr. Jochen Bürgel
Climate Outreach and Information Network (COIN, UK); Dr. Adam Corner

Autreach aims to improve the communication of climate change issues (both mitigation and adaptation) towards the target group of young people in Austria. A strong emphasis is set on integrating actors of the Austrian climate community into the project.

The focus of the project is set on analysing the climate awareness within the target group, further on gathering and evaluating inspiring climate communication formats and spreading them among stakeholders.

Further the impact of diverging communication approaches –catastrophic imagery versus positive stimulation – will be compared. Further we will analyse how climate change mitigation and adaption issues can be communicated to the young in a complementary manner, that overcomes incongruities, but not at the expense of comprehensibility.

In addition we will investigate the impact of selected events on young participants involved (e.g. workshops, cc events and lectures) regarding their climate awareness and individual climate action.

The project results will be summarised in a „communication toolbox“, that provides an illustrative and comprehensible toolkit for stakeholders. Using a peer to peer training approach the project results (e.g. „communication toolbox“) will be disseminated to the Austrian climate community in a stakeholder workshop.

The AUTreach project builds on and benefits from the results of the ACRP-Project CcTalK! led by Umweltbundesamt / Vienna (e.g. extensive collection of communication formats considering climate change adaption issues, success factors for cc communication…). AUTreach will expand and evaluate this selection of communication formats with regard to contents (climate change mitigation and adaptation) and with regard to the specific target group of young people.

www.autreach.boku.ac.at

Mandl, Sylvia; Lessky, Franziska; Chiari, Sybille; Völler, Sonja (2015): Klimawandel und Kommunikation. Online-Befragung von Jugendlichen. Partial results of the project AUTreach. Vienna: Austrian Institute for Sustainable Development.

Corner, Adam; Roberts, Olga; Chiari, Sybille; Völler, Sonja; Mayrhuber, Elisabeth; Mandl, Sylvia; Monson, Kate (2015): How do young people engage with climate change? The role of knowledge, values, message framing, and trusted communicators. Wiley Interdisciplinary Reviews: Climate Change, 2015, 6. Jg., Nr. 5, 523-534.

AUTreach – Communicating climate aware behaviour to young people in Austria

Unterstützt durch Fördergelder des Austrian Climate Research Program (ACRP, 6. Ausschreibung); Laufzeit: Mai 2014 – Apr 2016

Projektleitung:
Zentrum für Globalen Wandel und Nachhaltigkeit, Universität für Bodenkultur, Wien; Dr. Sybille Chiari

ProjektpartnerInnen:
Österreichisches Institut für Nachhaltige Entwicklung (ÖIN); Sylvia Mandl, MSc, Dr. Anja Christanell, Mag. Michaela Leitner
Abteilung Umweltfolgenabschätzung und Klimawandel, Umweltbundesamt GmbH; Mag. Sonja Völler, Dipl.-Ing. Andrea Prutsch, Mag. Ivo Offenthaler, Dr. Jochen Bürgel
Climate Outreach & Information Network (COIN, UK); Dr. Adam Corner

In seinem akteursbetonten Ansatz zielt das Projekt AUTreach darauf ab die Kommunikation von Klimaschutz- und Anpassungsmaßnahmen an die Zielgruppe junger Leute in Österreich zu verbessern.

Der Fokus des Projekts liegt einerseits in der Analyse des Klimabewusstseins in der Zielgruppe, in der Sammlung und Evaluierung ansprechender und animierender Kommunikationsformate sowie deren Verbreitung in der Klima-Community. Besondere Berücksichtigung finden dabei ein Impact-Vergleich von positiv stimulierenden und alarmierenden Informationsformaten sowie die Frage inwiefern sich Klimaschutzaspekte stimmig gemeinsam mit Klimawandelanpassungsaspekten kommunizieren lassen.

Zusätzlich wird in einer Ex-Post Analyse untersucht, welche Auswirkungen ausgewählte Kommunikationsformate (insbesondere einschlägige Workshops, Veranstaltungen sowie Vorlesungen) konkret auf das Klimabewusstsein und Engagement von involvierten Jugendlichen hatten.

Die Ergebnisse werden in einer “Kommunikations-Toolbox” allgemein verständlich und anschaulich aufbereitet und in einem Stakeholder-Workshop durch VertreterInnen aus der Zielgruppe der Jugendlichen im Sinne eines Peer-to-peer-Trainings an VertreterInnen aus der österreichischen Klima-Community (z.B. NGOs, WissenschaftlerInnen, Lehrende, politische EntscheidungsträgerInnen) vermittelt.

Das Projekt baut auf Ergebnissen des ACRP-Projekts CcTalK! (Projektleitung Umweltbundesamt) auf. Die umfangreiche Sammlung von Kommunikationsformaten für Klimawandelanpassung sowie die erarbeiteten Erfolgskriterien für Klimawandel-Kommunikation bieten eine gute Grundlage. In AUTreach werden nun weitere Kommunikationsformate, die sowohl Anpassung als auch Klimaschutz thematisieren – spezifisch für die Zielgruppe Jugendliche – gesammelt, evaluiert und zusammengestellt.

www.autreach.boku.ac.at

Mandl, Sylvia; Lessky, Franziska; Chiari, Sybille; Völler, Sonja (2015): Klimawandel und Kommunikation. Online-Befragung von Jugendlichen. Ergebnisse aus Arbeitspaket 3 des Projektes AUTreach. Wien: Österreichisches Institut für Nachhaltige Entwicklung.

Corner, Adam; Roberts, Olga; Chiari, Sybille; Völler, Sonja; Mayrhuber, Elisabeth; Mandl, Sylvia; Monson, Kate (2015): How do young people engage with climate change? The role of knowledge, values, message framing, and trusted communicators. Wiley Interdisciplinary Reviews: Climate Change, 2015, 6. Jg., Nr. 5, 523-534.