Transition to Sustainable Development

A study commissioned by the Ministry of Agriculture, Forestry & Environment; project duration: Dec 2008 – Apr 2009

Project management: Univ.-Doz. Dr. Dietmar Kanatschnig (ÖIN)

Project implementation: Mag. Irma Pelikan, Univ.-Doz. Dr. Dietmar Kanatschnig (ÖIN)

By transition we understand a fundamental change – both in thought and in action – on the level of society as a whole, which affects its structure (entire institutional framework), culture (dominant perspective) and functioning (routines, rules, practices), in all parts of the system or in certain areas. The manipulation of insistent social issues is not a matter of total control and direction of the transitional process, but has to be envisioned as a common process of exploring and searching for long-term, sustainable solutions. This process of social innovation which includes transformations of society and systemic innovations requires adequate social, economic and cultural conditions, mechanisms providing incentives and coordination, and selective political impulses. Transition management, also called co-evolutionary controlling, is a political tool which is based on the assumption of system insecurity.

The foundations of transition management largely agree with the new EU strategy. It also features a number of core political principles quoted there, such as an open and democratic society, civil participation, and the involvement of companies and the social partners. At the same time, transition management as a political tool is not explicitly mentioned in the amended EU strategy. In a basic survey involving literature analysis, internet research and expert interviews, the compatibility of this EU strategy for sustainable development with the tool of transition management is being tested. The following topics are being analysed and prepared: i) the process of transition to a sustainable society, ii) the state of the art in transition management, both in theory and in practice, and iii) the interface between the amended EU strategy for sustainable development and transition management. The result of these efforts provides starting points and recommendations for the integration of transition management into the amended EU strategy.

Kanatschnig, Dietmar; Pelikan, Irma (2009): Transition to Sustainable Development. Ist Transition-Management als neues Politikinstrument mit der erneuerten EU-Strategie für Nachhaltige Entwicklung vereinbar? Final report. Vienna: Austrian Institute for Sustainable Development.
download

Kanatschnig, Dietmar; Pelikan, Irma (2010): Transitionmanagement in Theorie und Praxis. In: Steurer, Reinhard; Trattnigg, Rita (eds.), Nachhaltigkeit regieren. Eine Bilanz zu Governance-Prinzipien und -Praktiken. Munich: oekom, 75-97.
link

Transition to Sustainable Development

Eine Studie im Auftrag des Lebensministeriums; Laufzeit: Dez 2008 – Apr 2009

Projektleitung: Univ.-Doz. Dr. Dietmar Kanatschnig (ÖIN)

Projektbearbeitung: Mag. Irma Pelikan, Univ.-Doz. Dr. Dietmar Kanatschnig (ÖIN)

Transition bezeichnet die fundamentale Veränderung unseres Denkens und Handelns auf gesamtgesellschaftlichem Niveau, die in der Struktur (gesamter institutioneller Rahmen), der Kultur (dominante Perspektive) und der Arbeitsweise (Routine, Regeln, Praktiken) des gesellschaftlichen Gesamtsystems und/oder seiner Teile stattfindet. Bei der Beeinflussung von hartnäckigen gesellschaftlichen Problemen geht es nicht um die vollkommene Kontrolle und Beherrschung des Transitionsprozesses, sondern vielmehr um einen gemeinsamen explorativ- und entwurforientierten Such- und Lernprozess für langfristige und nachhaltige Lösungen. Dieser gesellschaftliche Innovationsprozess mit seinen Systeminnovationen und gesellschaftlichen Transformationen bedarf geeigneter sozialer, ökonomischer und kultureller Rahmenbedingungen, Anreiz- und Koordinationsmechanismen und gezielter politischer Impulse. Transition-Management ist ein politisches Steuerungsinstrument, das von Komplexität und Unsicherheit eines Systems ausgeht und als koevolutionäres Steuern bezeichnet wird.

Von der Grundintention her ist Transition-Management mit der neuen EU-Strategie durchaus vereinbar. Auch etliche der angeführten “Leitprinzipien der Politik” sind Kernelemente des Transition-Managements, beispielsweise die offene und demokratische Gesellschaft, die Beteiligung der Bürgerinnen und Bürger sowie die Beteiligung der Unternehmen und Sozialpartner. Gleichzeitig ist das Politikinstrument des Transition-Managements in der erneuerten EU-Strategie aber nicht explizit erwähnt. Anhand von Literaturauswertung, Internetrecherche und ExpertInneninterviews wird in einer Grundlagenrecherche überprüft, wie weit die erneuerte EU-Strategie für nachhaltige Entwicklung und das Instrument des TM kompatibel sind. Die Themenfelder i) Übergang in eine nachhaltige Gesellschaft als Transitionsprozess, ii) Stand des Transition-Managements in Forschung und Praxis sowie iii) Schnittstellen der erneuerten EU-Strategie für Nachhaltige Entwicklung zum Transition-Management werden analysiert und aufbereitet. Damit werden Ansatzpunkte und Empfehlungen zur Integration von Transition-Management in die erneuerte EU-Strategie erarbeitet.

Kanatschnig, Dietmar; Pelikan, Irma (2009): Transition to Sustainable Development. Ist Transition-Management als neues Politikinstrument mit der erneuerten EU-Strategie für Nachhaltige Entwicklung vereinbar? Endbericht. Wien: Österreichisches Institut für Nachhaltige Entwicklung.
download

Kanatschnig, Dietmar; Pelikan, Irma (2010): Transitionmanagement in Theorie und Praxis. In: Steurer, Reinhard; Trattnigg, Rita (Hg.), Nachhaltigkeit regieren. Eine Bilanz zu Governance-Prinzipien und -Praktiken. München: oekom, 75-97.
link